Home » Sports » Messi wins historic fifth Ballon D’or award

Messi wins historic fifth Ballon D’or award

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or award for the world’s best player for the fifth time.

The 28-year-old Argentine had 41.33% of the vote, with Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo coming second with 27.76% and Brazilian forward Neymar finishing third with 7.86% of the vote.

United States midfielder Carli Lloyd, who scored a hat-trick in the Women’s World Cup final in Canada last year, won the women’s award as Former Germany striker Celia Sasic finished second despite retiring halfway through 2015 at the age of 27. Japan midfielder Aya Miyama, 30, captained her country to the World Cup final, where they lost to the USA. She was third.

Barcelona coach Luis Enrique won the world coach of the year award after leading his side to five trophies in 2015, including the Champions League, La Liga and the Copa del Rey while the women’s football coach of the year award was won by USA boss Jill Ellis.

Atletico Goianiense’s Wendell Lira won the goal of the year award for his overhead kick against Goianesia in Brazil’s Goiano state league.

Meanwhile, Nigeria was not left out of the action as both National team coach Sunday Oliseh and captain Ahmed Musa voted Lionel Messi for the FIFA World Footballer of the Year.

Oliseh picked Messi as first choice with Barcelona teammates Neymar and Luiz Suarez for the top prize in world football while Skipper Ahmed Musa prdicted the exact outcome of the award, casting his votes for Messi, Ronaldo and Neymar in that order.

Let your voice be heard, leave a comment

We love comments

%d bloggers like this: