Home » Sports » Oliseh calls up 26 players ahead of CHAN 2016
PHoto Credit: The NFF

Oliseh calls up 26 players ahead of CHAN 2016


PHoto Credit: The NFF

PHoto Credit: The NFF

Head Coach of the Super Eagles Sunday Oliseh has called 26 players, including forward Gbolahan Salami and defender Chima Akas, for the first phase of preparatory camp ahead of next month’s 4thAfrican Nations Championship in Rwanda. 

Also called up are regulars Kalu Orji, Austin Oboroakpo, Jamiu Alimi (defenders), midfielders Ifeanyi Mathew, Paul Onobi, Usman Mohammed and Bature Yaro, forwards Ezekiel Bassey, Tunde Adeniji, Chisom Chikatara and Prince Aggrey as well as goalkeepers Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Olufemi Thomas. 

Players from 13 clubs from the Nigeria Professional Football Leage (NPFL) are represented with Sunshine Stars, Enugu Rangers and Warri wolves contributing to the bulk of the team respectively.

Invited players have been directed to report to camp in Abuja on Monday the 14th  of December.  

However, some players invited are in the U-23 team to face Senegal tomorrow for a place in the Rio 2016 Olympics. They include Bature Yaro and Usman Mohammed,

The Super Eagles B have been drawn into Group C alongside Niger Republic, Tunisia and Guinea and the CHAN tournament is slated to Kickoff on Jan 16th



Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars); Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba FC); David Obiazor (Heartland FC); Okiemute Odah (Warri Wolves)


Defenders: Kalu Orji (Enugu Rangers); Austin Oboroakpo (Warri Wolves); Jamiu Alimi (Shooting Stars); Matthew Etim (Enugu Rangers); Stephen Eze (Sunshine Stars); Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Chris Madaki (Giwa FC)


Midfielders: Ifeanyi Matthew (El-Kanemi Warriors); Paul Onobi (Sunshine Stars); Usman Mohammed (FC Taraba); Bature Yaro (Nasarawa United); Osas Okoro (Enugu Rangers); Bartholomew Ibenegbu (Warri Wolves); Julius Ubido (Heartland FC); Ibrahim Salawa Attah (Shooting Stars); Christian Madu (Enugu Rangers)


Forwards: Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC); Gbolahan Salami (Warri Wolves); Tunde Adeniji (Sunshine Stars); Bright Onyedikachi (FC IfeanyiUbah); Chisom Chikatara (Abia Warriors); Prince Aggreh (Sunshine Stars)

Let your voice be heard, leave a comment

We love comments

%d bloggers like this: